By Cailyn Carr 11/21/17

Courtesy of Creative Commons

President Donald Trump announced Monday that the U.S. government would name North Korea a state sponsor of terror. This will put the country on a list that includes Sudan, Syria and Iran.

The decision to add North Korea to this list had been debated in the administration for months. Supporters argued the assassination of leader Kim Jong Un’s half-brother and the mistreatment of American student Otto Warmbier, now dead, is enough to place North Korea on the list. Some officials disagreed that Warmbier’s treatment constituted terrorism.

This action by the Trump administration marks North Korea’s second time on the list of state sponsors of terror. It was removed in 2008 in an attempt to make a deal to halt its nuclear development. Since then, the country has made extreme advancements on their nuclear program. They proved their ability to reach the U.S. with nuclear weapons earlier this year.

The president said that the designation of North Korea to this list will impose further penalties on the country as a part of his “maximum pressure campaign.” Some congressional lawmakers have been pushing for this while others fear it could worsen the already tense relations between the U.S. and North Korea.