Boston Bruins announce 20 players named to All-Centennial Team

10/13/23 By Mackenzie Bruno 

The Boston Bruins All-Centennial Team was announced Thursday, with 20 players selected to join the prestigious list.  

The All-Centennial Team is a hand-picked roster of players from the Boston Bruins franchise, comprised of only the most legendary players in the organization’s history. The team is made up of 12 forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders.  

The 20-man roster was voted upon by an independent committee of journalists, media members, historians and members of the hockey community for a comprehensive and well-rounded approach.  

The following players are Bruins who have been awarded the honor: 

For the forwards: Patrice Bergeron, Johnny Bucyk, Wayne Cashman, Bill Cowley, Phil Esposito, David Krejci, Brad Marchand, Rick Middleton, Cam Neely, Terry O’Reilly, David Pastrnak and Mike Schmidt. 

The defensemen picked for the All-Centennial Team are Ray Bourque, Zdeno Chara, Dir Clapper, Bobby Orr, Brad Park and Eddie Shore. 

Lastly, the two goaltenders selected were Frank Brimsek and Gerry Cheevers.  

Active players who were given a spot on this prestigious list are Brad Marchand and David Pastrnak. Marchand, going into his 15th season in the NHL, has appeared in 948 career games, totaling 372 goals and 491 assists for 863 points. He won the Stanley Cup in 2011 and is Boston’s all-time leader in overtime goals and shorthanded scores. Marchand ranks number one in plus-minus rating in all of the NHL. In September, he was named the 27th captain in Bruins franchise history.  

Pastrnak’s career includes appearing in 593 games, with 303 total goals, 316 assists and 619 points. He became the first Bruin since 1974-75 to win the Rocket Richard Trophy, as he was the leading goal scorer during the 2019-2020 season. Last season, he became the second Bruins player in franchise history with over 60 goals in a single season. He ranks second in team history with 15 career hat tricks.