Progressive new faces elected to Boston City Council


11/8/23 by Parker Garlough

Unofficial results from Tuesday’s election show that voters reelected all nine active incumbents to the Boston City Council. The remaining four seats were filled by three progressive Wu-endorsed candidates and one moderate Democrat. 

Henry Santana became an at-large city councilor, joining three incumbents: Ruthzee Louijeune, Erin Murphy, and Julia Mejia. John Fitzgerald (the least progressive newcomer) won in District 3, where former councilor Frank Baker did not seek reelection. Enrique Pepén won in District 5, where former councilor Ricardo Arroyo lost in the preliminary election. Benjamin Weber won in District 6, where former councilor Kendra Lara lost in the preliminary election. 

Relative newcomer Sharon Durkan held onto the District 8 seat she won in a special election over the summer.